You’re so vain-ity

Well, last time, we went over the tile situation. After hubs and I picked out the tiles, the next weekend we went vanity/fixture shopping. It was eye opening. I have always enjoyed looking at furniture and bathroom set ups. I go gaga over super modern spaces, especially in hotels and in magazines. However, I also don’t find these to be very practical and livable.

G and I have a similar aesthetic. We appreciate the super modern but want the traditional. I’ve discovered it’s called transitional. We headed to the lovely Lily at Kitchen & Bathworks in North Plainfield. She had been recommended to us by Maria at Garden State Tile as well as our contractor, architect, and neighbors. That’s pretty solid if you ask me. She let us wander the showroom for a bit then get down to it. I will be honest, as much research as I’d done. I had NO frame of reference for what these things cost.

We started with our bathroom vanity. G and I knew we wanted to try to get a double vanity in the space. We had about 60″ to work with. We walked in with some pictures as well, this was the one we liked the most so walked around looking to see something similar.

Source: overstock.com via Debbie on Pinterest

 

We ended up with this awesome vanity from Vanico. It’s called Tradition. We might add the above toilet cabinet at some point but our builder and I reconfigured the bathroom so we’re going to have an awesome built-in linen closet. So happy!

 

We really wanted an Espresso wood, we thought it would play against the sand colored tile so nicely. Second most important was storage. Third was quality/price. This covered all three. Solidly manufactured and gorgeous wood, plenty of storage. WHEEEE And for the price, we got the vanity top and mirrors thrown in. Which covers value. NICE.

When it came to the faucets and shower head it had to be Moen… G kept quoting some Howard Stern call in or Larry David or something, I can’t remember but he just kept muttering “It’s Moen, bitch.” So of course now that’s all I can think of when I hear it. Cracks me up.

Source: moen.com via Debbie on Pinterest

Source: moen.com via Debbie on Pinterest

 

So that is our bathroom.

 


 

The kids bathroom is another story. We have their tub, and their faucets all set… the vanity is a whole other story.

The fixtures are all going to be chromed out. Which rocks. THEN we have some decisions to make for the vanity. We decided that we were going to just go Home Depot, nothing fancy, something that could get beat up because lets face it. They are 5 and 2 there is a lot of maturing that needs to happen before an expensive vanity goes in there. So we were originally going to get this:

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

 

But then I was poking around online and didn’t love it as much.

So I found these couple:

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

 

 

But then I also happened upon this one:

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

Source: homedepot.com via Debbie on Pinterest

 

Clearly a completely different scheme. Now if you remember, the game plan for their bathroom was white on white and classic. Subway tiles in the tub area, hex tiles on the floor, wainscoting on the walls. I was trying to convince myself that the tempured glass would look fine with the white, but it wouldn’t. And I also tried to convince myself that the lines of the espresso vanity would look fine with the wainscoting, but I don’t think it will.

So now the question is do we go for modern or traditional?

Any thoughts???? Please feel free to share.

Leave a Reply

