Summer Rental – Part 1: the kitchen

FINALLY, I have uploaded pictures of the rental (along with others pictures) so I can start to take you on a little tour. Little because well the house is little, and also because let’s face it… it’s a rental we’re only in here for (cross your fingers) a few months so we don’t want to set too many roots.

Let me tell you a little bit about the Summer Rental. First it’s a ranch, there are 6 rooms: the kitchen, family room, multi-purpose room, then our three bedrooms. I’m not counting the bathrooms, there are actually two! G and I have our own which while it is the size of a large coffee table it is ours all ours.

I’ll continue that diatribe another day. This is about the kitchen.

 

then

now

There is something about this kitchen that automatically makes me want to put on an apron and start cooking. Everything is circa 1967, except the microwave. I’m sure the fridge and dishwasher are newer but they don’t really seem it.

I love these chevron handles

door and drawer handles

Yes the linoleum is a bit dated, and the formica is well… formica but honestly it is super functional.

There are a few things that I have also come to the conclusion of, the most important being that I do NOT want/covet that big white porcelain apron front sink anymore. Here’s why, I have this gorgeous white sink at the rental….

Big… white… beautiful

Unfortunately, this is not how the sink is normally looking. I would have to clean it ALL the time. Do you know how often hubs and I have red wine? And no we do not always pop our dishes right into the dishwasher so our sink tends to look a little more like this…

So if you’re the kind of person who cleans all the time and keeps their sink area clean and neat then by all means take the plunge and get the big white sink… otherwise, I’m more than happy with my stainless steel, I do wish that it was a little bigger but it suits my lifestyle.

then

now

you have a little sneak peak into the next room. I have never had a “pantry” and this shelving is usually in our basement but i LOVE having it right in the kitchen. When we head back home I’m going to have to figure out how to get some sort of shelving unit in the kitchen area and free up cabinet space for food. It really helps when doing inventory and food shopping to see everything as opposed to searching for it.

I recently had a conversation with some of my girlfriends about our weekly food routines. Both for our kids and for ourselves. I was stared at like I had five heads when I described how I plan everything out, but it works for me. I plan the whole week’s meals the same time as I do my shopping list. That way I can automatically add it. BTW, i LOVE my shopping list. I found it at Target a few years ago, it’s made by Real Simple…. You can see it on the side of the fridge.

Here is our weekly menu:

weekly meal planning

Of note, my kids eat all three of their meals at school. I know I’m a HORRIBLE MOTHER. After five years, I’m over it and quite enjoy it. The older one eats better there than he does at home and I’m a little worried about next year when he hits kindergarten and is eating breakfast and dinner at home?!

So in their columns that is what I put into their bags to bring to day care. D is on the meal plan for lunch at school so I only send him breakfast and dinner. I send in each of E’s meals so I have to plan all three for her. I try to just make two of things so I have to think even less but unfortunately D doesn’t eat eggs and I try to keep E away from nuggets. D used to eat all sorts of exotic things but then as he got older his tastes got smaller and smaller minded. I’m hoping to reverse that trend but I chose my battles. He’s in his own room and staying there all night… that’s one in my column to be sure! Next up is sucking the thumb.

Anyhoo, I digress…. So for D and E, I put their bags together the night before while I’m cleaning up. I like to be on autopilot at this time of knight so I only have to glance at the fridge pop everything in and put it in the fridge to grab and go in the morning. It works of me. I mix up proteins during the week and try vary the breakfasts.

Then in the adult column we’re on our own. I usually just put down a basic protein I have a ton of side dishes that are ready to go from freezer to microwave to table (thank you trader joe’s). So I only have to figure out a marinade and way to cook it up and we’re good to go. Sometimes I do put in more details if I have a particular recipe I’m trying out or want to use, then I’ll put which cookbook it came from. None of my weekday meals can take more than 20 minutes to cook or else our whole night routine gets messed up. Kids in baths by 7:30; E in bed by 8; D in bed by 9.

 

Hope you enjoyed the first installment of the house tour. Next up the playroom.

2 responses

  1. I wish I could be that organized with our food. And I’m so insane that I actually pack their lunches in the morning! Everyday I decide that I’m going to do it the night before but then I never do. I suck.

Leave a Reply

